top of page

Gluten-free Green Protein Pancakes


Gluten-free Green Pancakes

Right, so I'm going to get straight to it with this one. The pancake base is a recipe I've been quite familiar with for some time now but have always had some kind of problem with, whether it's just too bland, or the mixture is too thin and doesn't cook properly. However, a couple of weeks ago, whilst at home nursing a bad sinus infection, I had a sudden craving for some protein pancakes, and realising I finally had some vanilla whey to experiment with, I thought I'd give the recipe another go. And they turned out far better than I could ever have anticipated. I was so happy, and couldn't believe how sweet they were without having added any sugar or sweetener.

The recipe makes a small batch, enough for one. They are so simple to make, are healthy, gluten-free and incredibly filling.


The whole batch is only 264 cal, with 5.7G fat, 14.7G carbs, and a huge 39.4G protein.


The ingredients:


1 scoop (35g) Vanilla protein powder (MyProtein - gluten-free) 1 Medium egg, whole 20g Kale 1/2 tsp Baking powder (gluten-free version) 50ml Almond milk


The recipe:


- Put all ingredients into a blender and blend. Make sure that there are no lumps otherwise it won't cook evenly. - Place a small amount of oil in a frying pan and heat at a high temperature. Once the oil is hot, reduce the heat and add the first spoonful of mixture. Tip: I use small amounts of mixture each time as the pancakes are much easier to flip, and prevent them from breaking. - Place a lid on the pan and cook slowly. When the bubbles begin to appear on the top, flip it and cook on the other side for a few seconds. - Once cooked, arrange the pancakes on a plate and top with your favourite extras. Melted dark chocolate, nuts and fruit are a healthy, filling alternative to sugar and syrups. And enjoy!


I'd love to know if you have a go at my recipe and how you like to top yours. Use #healthbyholly or tag me @health_by_holly in your pancake pictures!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
bottom of page